Shruti (Sanskrit: श्रुति, IAST: Śruti, IPA: [ɕrʊtɪ]) in Sanskrit means “that which is heard” and refers to the body of most authoritative, ancient religious texts comprising the central canon of Hinduism

Manusmriti states: Śrutistu vedo vijñeyaḥ (Sanskrit: श्रुतिस्तु वेदो विज्ञेय:) meaning, “Know that Vedas are Śruti”

Thus, it includes the four Vedas including its four types of embedded texts—the Samhitas, the Upanishads, the Brahmanas and the Aranyakas

Śrutis have been variously described as a revelation through anubhava (direct experience), or of primordial origins realized by ancient Rishis

In Hindu tradition, they have been referred to as apauruṣeya (not created by humans)

The Śruti texts themselves assert that they were skillfully created by Rishis (sages), after inspired creativity, just as a carpenter builds a chariot

All six schools of Hinduism accept the authority of śruti, but many scholars in these schools have denied that the śrutis are divine

A popular quote on supreme authority is Śruti can be found in Manusmriti (Adhyaya 1, Mantra 132) that Dharma jijñāsamānam pramāṇam paramam śrutih (Sanskrit: धर्मं जिज्ञासमानानां प्रमाणं परमं श्रुतिः, lit

means “To those who seek the knowledge of the sacred law, the supreme authority is the revelation Śruti

Shruti (Śruti) differs from other sources of Hindu philosophy, particularly smṛti “which is remembered” or textual material

These works span much of the history of Hinduism, beginning with the earliest known texts and ending in the early historical period with the later Upanishads

Of the śrutis, the Upanishads alone are widely known, and the central ideas of the Upanishadic śrutis are at the spiritual core of Hindus