The Devi Bhagavata Purana (Sanskrit: दवी भागवतपराणम्, Devī Bhāgavatapurāṇam), also known as the Devi Bhagavatam, Bhagavata Purana, Srimad Bhagavatam and Srimad Devi Bhagavatam is a Sanskrit text and one of the eighteen major Puranas of Hinduism

The text is considered a Mahapurana for Devi worshippers

The purana consists of twelve cantos (sections) with 318 chapters

Along with Devi Mahatmya, it is one of the most important works in Shaktism, a tradition within Hinduism that reveres Devi or Shakti (Goddess) as the primordial creator of the universe and the Brahman (ultimate truth and reality)

It celebrates the divine feminine as the origin of all existence, the creator, the preserver and the destroyer of everything, as well as the one who empowers spiritual liberation

While all major Puranas of Hinduism mention and revere the Goddess, this text centers around her as the primary divinity

The underlying philosophy of this text is Advaita Vedanta-style monism combined with devotional worship of Shakti (feminine power)

It is believed that this was spoken by Vyasa to King Janamejaya, the son of Parikshit