The Brahma Purana (Sanskrit: ब्रह्मपुराण or ब्राह्मपुराण; Brahma-Purana) is one of the eighteen major Puranas collections of Hindu texts in Sanskrit Language

It is listed as the first Maha-Purana in all the anthologies, and therefore also called Adi Purana

Another title for this text is Saura Purana, because it includes many chapters related to Surya or the Sun God

The Brahma Purana is actually just a compilation of geographical Mahatmya (Travel Guides) and sections on diverse topics